Review: Day by Day Armageddon, Beyond Exile (Book 2) by J. L. Bourne

Day by Day Armageddon, Beyond Exile (Book 2)The first book in this series is another book I finished just before I returned back to the helm of GC. And the first novel had me riveted. I am a big zombie fan and I was struck by the diary style telling of the death of the world. Beyond Exile, Book 2 continues the story of our daring and ever lucky protag in a world being dominated by a zombie outbreak. “Ever lucky?” you say…

Yes. As much as I liked the first entry, the second was not as good. In the first, the escape scenes were real and daring. Believable. In this edition…Well let just say Al Qaeda. Really?

I made it about halfway through the book before I turned on the fast forward. This was partially due to the cross-country dodge and evade scenes which dominate the 2nd half of the book. I could only take so much of the close calls and the hours long watch and wait scenarios whilst the protag looked for a safe place to sleep.

Now, don’t get me wrong. If this were to happen for real, then life would probably line up with this book at 95%, minus the “ever luckiness”. Each day would be a struggle between staying quiet to avoid the zombie love and finding food, water, and resources to stay alive. For a book, it just got sort of boring.

If Mr. Bourne writes a 3rd book to complete the trilogy (which the ending leads me to believe), then I’ll definitely be reading it. I’d love to see how the story wraps up.

And let me say this too, for a web serial that turned into a novel and possibly a trilogy, I wish Bourne all the best. It’s stuff like this that will break writers out from under the publishing worlds discriminating embrace. Be sure to visit his website: http://www.tacticalunderground.us/.

And one final thing. The protag wondered about the fate of the crew on the space station at the start of the outbreak. I wondered too…

http://ficly.com/stories/24993

About Geordi Calrissian

African American? Check. Nerd cred? Check. Star Trek? Check. Star Wars? Check. What else is there?

Posted on May 1, 2011, in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

