Review: Tomorrow When The War Began by John Marsden

Tomorrow When The War BeganI learned of Tomorrow, When The War Began by John Marsden while trolling the Twitterverse. Cory Doctrow retweeted @Churba about a book and mentioned how great it was. That’s about all it took for me to find it at my local library and put it on reserve. I must also mention that I did cursory review on Amazon and I have to say that this is the first book I have seen there with a 5-star review, with more than 150+ reviews. Everybody can’t be wrong!

So I dive in an immediately, I am thinking Wolverines, Australian-style (BTW, they betnot mess up one of my all-time favorite movies with the 2011 remake). The book is classified as YA and the author does keep it simple. Not gory, not overly intense. But, he gave me a great feel for what it’s like to live “out in the country” in Australia. The scenery descriptions were spot on and I could imagine myself walking around the semi-civilized outback.

As for the story itself, I’ll rate it an “OK”. The premise is pretty clear. And after a little thought, I have to agree that a blitz against the Australians would catch the world by surprise. But, I would like to think that an invasion of this magnitude would kick off WWIII. Most stories I read are focused on the US, it was great to step outside of that comfort zone with Tomorrow.

And I am a sucker for apocalyptic stories. Having someone invade your country is just as good as zombies in my book. I pushed through to the end and found myself really caring for these kids. A very diverse bunch, each of them finding their way in their new reality. The protag is great. A girl (for a change), with the guts and determination to make some big moves for the group. I found each of the characters to be realistic and easily imagined a younger version of myself or a slightly older version of my kids in the same scenario.

I will be recommending this as a read for my daughter. Although, she finally agreed to read the 1st Harry Potter and I must take that opportunity while it exists. Maybe this can be on-deck after the Sorcerer’s Stone.

After visiting the author’s site (http://www.johnmarsden.com.au/home.html), I saw that there was a movie for the book as well. It was released in Australia in 2010. Hopefully, it will make its way to US region DVDs/BluRays this summer. The trailer is below (pretty smokin!)

About Geordi Calrissian

African American? Check. Nerd cred? Check. Star Trek? Check. Star Wars? Check. What else is there?

Posted on May 26, 2011, in books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

